Posted by: LYF | November 22, 2008

Internet News

Google – SearchWiki

Google just added a wiki function to its search engine that lets you vote up or down search results.  I think it’s a really cool idea.  Now I can customize my searches and simultaneously add information to a community that helps other Google users.  There’s even a comment option under each search result so I can jot down what I thought about the site.

I really like this approach because it allows me to make my Google searches personally relevant, which will cut down the time I spend looking for information I need.  I was worried about other people’s contributions screwing up my searches but Google addresses that problem.

“The changes you make only affect your own searches. But SearchWiki also is a great way to share your insights with other searchers. You can see how the community has collectively edited the search results by clicking on the “See all notes for this SearchWiki” link.”Official Google Blog

This strategy looks a lot like stumbleupon’s, which I use a lot and also love for similar reasons.  I’m really looking forward to using these features.

Youtube LIVE

At 5:00 today youtube is going to assemble a bunch of tv, music and internet celebritites, put them all on one stage, and broadcast it live.  Celebrities present include, Akon, Will.I.AM, Mythbusters, Katie Perry, Chad Vader and Bo Burnham.  I’m not sure what the format of the show is going to be like – a lot of these celebrities do very different things.  But that might make the show all the more interesting.  Either way, I think its going to be worth checking out.

Google Themes

And last of all, huge hat tip to Krupo for blogging about the new gmail themes.  They’re pretty sweet.


Leave a comment

Categories