Posted by: LYF | November 21, 2008

Self-sabotage?

I was about to send an email to a client last week and out of habit, I asked my coworker to proofread it first.  Nothing wrong with that right?  Just trying to make sure that I’ve presented myself professionally.  But there comes a time when you need to do things on your own.  You can’t keep creating crutches for yourself and relying on other people to pick up your slack.

This is another good example.  Today I was working on a cash flow statement that I could not get to work.  I spent about 5min looking at my financials, gave up and asked for help.  Luckily, I have really nice coworkers and the two of us were able to figure it out – capital leases are not cash items.  Afterwards, I realized that I had been on the right track and if I thought about my problem for maybe another 20min I could have figured it out.

And I’m not saying don’t ask for help.  I am saying that if you know what you’re doing, then go ahead and do it.  Even if you don’t know what you’re doing, if you have the resources to figure it out yourself, then go do that (i.e. – call CRA 1-800-959-5525 and ask to speak to a senior tax agent for tax questions).  It is a lot easier to just ask someone, but it’s better to try and struggle through it first.

This post is probably the result of reading The War of Art.  I actually managed to contact the author and he agreed to sign my copy.  Solid guy.

Leave a Reply

Categories

