Posted by: LYF | March 4, 2011

I need your help to plan a mini-retirement

It’s not certain yet, but I may be going on a mini-retirement for the next two and a half months.  Two and a half months is a long time and I don’t have any personal projects to keep me busy for that long.  So I’m hoping you guys can help me come up with something.

What would you do if you didn’t have to work?  Volunteer?  Write a book?  Take a cooking class?  There are no wrong answers.  Let me know.  If I choose you’re idea you may get a prize.

Responses

  1. Are you willing to travel?

    What’s your budget?

    • Willing to travel, but have a ridiculously tight budget. If I went somewhere for an extended period of time I’d have to find a job/sublet my apartment.

  2. If there are books you’ve always wanted to read but did not have time to do now is a good chance. Or there could be some free or low-cost sessions you might want to take. Sometime the library or community centre will have new things come up that might be of interest.

    Play a lot of video games and raise your achievement score by about 15000 (more if you are willing to play crap games)

    Protest random things. Stand at the bus stop and protest the temperature of the seats or protest that a store moved to another location. Pointless stupid things that will get you some joy out of it. Or things that hold meaning to you.

  3. Some sort of help is always satisfying. Maybe give people of Haiti a hand?

  4. So are you on your mini-retirement already? Volunteering could be a nice way to pass the time, and maybe learn something new.

    You could write guest posts for my website! 😉

    • Yup. I’m in Buenos Aires right now. Coming home this Monday for the crossfit regionals and then I’l be travelling to Iceland.

      Guest posts sound good though…any specific topics you were considering?

      • Looking for something basic on the type of firm you work at (regional, national, big 4) and how long the engagements are/how many clients you work with/what the atmosphere is like/opportunities to work at other firms after. I’m trying to put together a series of posts to help students understand more about the differences between different sized firms, since I know that was a big question for me when I was going through recruiting.

        Or anything that might pertain to recruiting and/or doing well in your first couple of years at a public accounting firm 🙂

        How did crossfit go?? Buenos Aires sounds great, hopefully Iceland will be just as nice!


Leave a Reply

Categories

