Posted by: LYF | October 8, 2009

I’m not dead, I have a lot of things to write about, here are some books you should read.

I recently moved, in an attempt to be closer to work.  I am closer, however I’m still a 40min commute via public transit.  It’s a small sacrifice for living in the annex.  I think I made the right choice.

There are some great things going on over at myCAsite.  If you’re a university student, recent grad or even a seasoned chartered accountant you need to go there.

I haven’t posted what I’ve been reading in a while.  Here’s what we got…

The Economy of Cities – Jane Jacobs

Jane Jacobs is brilliant.  The area I currently live in was influenced by Jacobs’ other book “The Life and Death of Great American Cities.”  “The Economy of Cities” is just as good and logically clearheaded; which is often lacking in most economics books.  Go read it.  It’s nice to have a copy of Adam Smith’s “The Wealth of Nations” nearby because she smack talks it a bit.  Take that invisible hand!

Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

Great book, but the main character is a bitch.  Life is hard bud?  Go get kicked in the ribs by a muai thai master (that happened last weekend) and follow that up with a crossfit workout (burst all the blood vessels around my eyes after doing 83 hand-stand pushups).  That’s what I thought.  PIP AINT GOT NOTHING ON ME!.

Treasure Island -Robert Louis Stevenson

Easy read, somewhat entertaining.  This would be great for kids under 10.

I Not Dead – Bigfoot

Lots of lols.

Permission Marketing – Seth Godin

Sometimes I feel like Seth Godin is the only person who “gets it.”

The Wind Up Bird Chronicle – Haruki Murakami

Alright, this is a good book, it’s just not for me.  The story had too much surrealism.  I’m not too into that.

In Defense of Food – Michael Pollan

The subtitle sums up the book – eat food, not too much, mostly plants.

The Lost Symbol – Dan Brown

Ok, I really liked this book.  I know everyone is hating on it, but it is entertaining.  Dan Brown’s books are amazing like Mcdonald cheeseburgers.  You’re not really getting anything out of them, but god damn they’re good.

Responses

  1. Rollback by Robert Sawyer

    This is a very believable story about contacting an alien race through SETI starting March 1, 2010. It is entertaining as well as gripping.


Leave a Reply

Categories

