Posted by: LYF | June 15, 2009

How to get jacked during busy season

It’s really difficult to find the time to eat healthy and stay active during busy season, especially if you work at a big 4 firm.  Last year I dropped close to 6 pounds just from stress.  I decided things would be different this year.  I made a conscious effort to actually gain muscle; actually to get as jacked as possible while working ridiculous hours.  It worked pretty well.  I put on 10 pounds of muscle in a month and upped my weight in every exercise.  Most notably were my deadlifts.  They jumped from 225 to 315.  Here’s how it’s done.

First, you need to change two paradigms.  One, when it comes to exercising, think of training specific lifts instead of training muscle groups.  I know lots of people who do 3 exercises per muscle and hit the same muscle group once a week.  It’s far more effective to perform exercises that train multiple muscle groups at once (compound exercises) that can be done 3 times a week.  It makes your workouts far more efficient.  To reiterate it’s more effective to train a muscle 3 times a week verses 3 times a workout.

Second, doing cardio is not the best way to lose weight/get cut.  This is difficult for most people to comprehend.  It’s actually easier to lose weight through lifting heavy and eating better.  This goes for girls too.  You will not look like this if you do the exercises I mentioned above.  Girls don’t have enough testosterone.

When it comes to eating it’s best to think of the things you can eat versus what you can’t.  Think of it this way, you can eat as much protein and vegetables as you want.  If you have a protein and vegetable with every meal you’re doing pretty good.  Then in between meals you can snack on fruits, nuts and dairy products like cottage cheese.  A sample day could look something like this.

Breakfast: 5 egg omelette with pancetta

Snack 1: 2 handfulls of almonds

Lunch: 2 salmon fillets and some salad

Snack 2: strawberries and blue berries

Dinner: Chicken breast and butternut squash

Keep in mind I’m not a personal trainer.  I casually read websites like EliteFTS, T-Muscle and straight to the bar.  I also watch Ronnie Coleman videos – more for comedic reasons than anything else (YEAH BUDYYY!!!).  But I have followed this plan and I have tracked my progress in excel for the past month and a half.  Here are my gains.

Squats: 225 – 255

Deadlifts: 225 – 325

Bench press: 225 – 235 (I tore a muscle because my form was lacking)

Press: 95 – 135

Snatch: 135 – 155

Weight: 170 – 180

I do two different workouts that alternate every other day.  On average they take 90min.  This includes a 5min warm-up and 10 min cool down of light cardio and stretching.  I usually throw in dips, chin ups, pull ups and push ups randomly too.  I’m a huge fan of the workouts because they’re so simple.  Don’t let that fool you though.  These workouts are hard.

Workout 1: Squats, Press, Deadlifts (5 sets of 5 reps)

Workout 2: Squats, Bench press, Snatches (5 sets of 5 reps)

If anyone is thinking of doing something like this I highly recommend reading starting strength.  It explains how to do each of the above exercises properly.

Have fun!

Responses

  1. wow, your meals sound yummy and your weight lifting routines sound even yummier!! LOL. I also read STTB regularly. Its a great site for weight lifting tips for sure. Keep the posts like this coming, its a good one!


Leave a Reply

Categories

