Posted by: LYF | March 16, 2009

What I’m reading

On the Ideal Orator – Cicero

I picked up this book because I thought it might help with my writing cadence or improve my public speaking.  I think it helped a bit.  It also helped me understand the importance of structure and logical flow in speech writing.  It’s worth checking out.

Starting Strength – Mark Rippetoe

This is the second best book I’ve ever read (the first is Knowledge and Decisions by Thomas Sowell).  I’ve never been formally trained or coached in terms of weight lifting.  I’ve been going to the gym for 4 years, so I thought I pretty much knew what I was doing.  Well, after reading this book I realized that I didn’t know a whole lot.  To put things into perspective, using stuff I learned from this book, I increased my deadlifts from 225 – 300 in 2 weeks.

I hightly recommend this book.

Responses

  1. LYF,

    I’m the guy who overposted a few threads back.

    1. Just got an Amazon Kindle, and I love it.

    2. Check out Party Guys, the new SNL Digital Short.

  2. Nah, no such thing as over posting.

    Is it that good? Do you ever miss just holding a book? And I was curious, does the kindle let you write notes as you read?

  3. Thomas Sowell – great call!


Leave a Reply

Categories

