Posted by: LYF | December 15, 2008

What I’m Reading

The Moral Animal – Robert Wright

The first book on evolutionary psychology I’ve read.  I’m not sure how I feel about the author’s thesis – that most of our behaviors are based in a self-serving way.  Makes you feel kind of uncomfortable at first.  Although, the book does have a cool insight into psychology that I’ve never really considered.  And it was interesting to read after Jung.  I did like the book.  I’d recommend reading it with Dawkin’s The Selfish Gene.  Dawkin’s book helps explain evolution with genes as the unit of natural selection.

The Peloponnesian Wars – Thuycides (Book 2)

The war between Athens and the Peloponnesian League begins.  The book is getting more awesome.  I’m really enjoying reading all the speeches.

Responses

  1. I picked up the History of TPW while on vacation out West. Good read. More of an ancient military history book. 🙂

  2. Yeah I hear what you’re saying. I’m not very far into it. The speeches are amazing though. They’re all so epic.

    Reading them is like watching this;

    http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1893373


Leave a Reply

Categories

