Posted by: LYF | December 6, 2008

How it feels…

Thinking back to the amount of work and stress I put into this past year and seeing the result of all that as a piece of paper that only says “Successful” makes it difficult to process emotion and rational thought.  I’m still having trouble comprehending the fact that the UFE process is over.

Finding out

I barely slept the night before.  I went to bed around 1:30 because I couldn’t relax enough to even think of sleeping.  And then I woke up every two hours because I kept having UFE nightmares – worse than loan amortization schedule nightmares (it’s impressive how much lamer that is to read, than it is to think).  The morning at work was even worse.  I could not stop thinking about the results.  I tried putting an audit file together to force my attention on something else, but that wasn’t much help.  Then out of the corner of my eye I saw my partner’s out-stretched hand.  He gave me a firm handshake and a heartfelt smile.  And then my office manager appeared with the paper (that she had since 9am that morning!) showing my status as “successful.”  It was one of the best moments of my life.

The Stress

This year I learned what stress was.  Stress is being unemployed while writing your first professional exam and having your laptop crash a minute before your second.  Stress is talking to your office manager about banal subjects like the whether when she has your ufe results but can’t tell you for THREE HOURS.  And add to this the fact that my grandfather who passed away before I was born was an accountant.  So my grandmother has been eagerly waiting for the day she could brag about her grandson who followed in her grandfather’s footsteps.  I did not want to let  her down.  That is stress.

Thanks

I could not have accomplished this without support from many people – coworkers, friends, family other bloggers.  But I want to give a shout-out to some people in particular – my two roommates from university and my coworker who studied with me during the UFE.  Thanks for marking all my sims, putting up with my general abbrasiveness and listening to me vent and complain.  Your help was invaluable.

Responses

  1. Congrats again – study buddies are by far the most important people leading up to the UFE.

    Pretty stupid and harsh to enforce the 3h rule though – Atlantic Canada finds out in the AM and Quebec found on Thursday night, but it’s over now, and what’s a sleepless night, if you treat it as the price of “making sure the ICAO got the results right?”

    I suppose. 😉

  2. CONGRATS!!!!!! this was the best day of my life too!!!!!! sucks how you guys have to work before you find out!!!! on the west coast we wake up at 7 AM to find out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

