Posted by: LYF | July 29, 2008

How to make your clients feel unimportant

Finding an accounting job in Toronto is tough. In January I went to a recruiting firm to get some help. In retrospect I wouldn’t recommend doing this until you at least pass the UFE. Most employers aren’t willing to pay a recuiting firm to find them an employee with hardly any experience. And most recruiting firms won’t tell you this because you represent potential cash in their pocket.

I showed up 15min early in order to make a good first impression. Everything went down hill from there. The recruiter forgot she had a meeting with me. She then spent a half an hour on the phone with another client. This is a great way to make your clients feel unimportant.

After we had that meeting it took her 3 months to get back to me. Her response wasn’t even personalized. It was a cookie cutter email that not only assured me their company was working “hard” for me, but informed me that their firm offers $500 “referral bonuses.” Are you fucking kidding me? You’re going to give me sub bar service and I get to help you make more money? On top of all this the recuiter added me to linkedIn.

I still get emails from this firm and I understand why – because they think its costing them nothing. They don’t understand that the negative word of mouth they’re generating costs their business in a very real way. It’s a good example of how companies are using the internet without understanding it. Email and social networks are effective if they help strengthen the relationships between you and your clients. You can’t fake sincerity just by using flavour-of-the-month web 2.0 concepts.

This is exactly how not to do business.

Seth Godin gives good examples on how to use email effectively

Leave a Reply

Categories

