Posted by: LYF | July 12, 2008

Pain

As I’ve mentioned before I enjoy exercising. But, I often push myself too hard and hurt myself in the process. This attitude led to sciatica.

Sciatica is awful because of the type of pain it causes – nerve pain. It’s that same feeling you get when you hit your funny bone. Now imagine that, times ten, starting from your lower back and shooting down through your legs.

That’s what sciatica feels like. And since its a symptom of a lower back injury, it affects almost every exercise in the gym. But it has the largest impact on squats.

This is pure pain. When it’s already difficult to stand, the last thing you should be doing is putting weight on your shoulders and lowering yourself to a sitting position. Why do I do this? Because I read articles like this one and think to myself, “well if a 71 year old man can out last NHL players, former professional bikers and tennis stars, then I can do fucking squats with sciatica – suck it up buttercup.”

Leave a Reply

Categories

